The Blue Blot

notes, finds & fragments of research

I like Old Things ~ (so) ~ Love me more


‘You really just like old things, don’t you?’

It has been said to me. Not just once. Often. And I will admit: It is true, to a certain extent at least. But the whole ‘born too late’, ‘living in the wrong era’, and ‘the old soul’; that is the purest nonsense of all. I probably wouldn’t have lasted a single bloody day in the past, if only due to the fact they didn’t have central heating, proper electricity, running water and the internet. And there you have it: my four basic needs in daily life.

But I do wholeheartedly appreciate the quality and beauty of antiques, books and music, the knowledge of older people who witnessed things I can only read about or listen to by means of a recording; and above all I have an interest in the historical facts of what caused life to turn out to be what it is. In my opinion there can be no tomorrow if we forget what happened yesterday. And sadly most people do, because yesterday is old news and we are constantly craving for something new and exciting that will trigger our greedy needs in life.

Ignorance is bliss. And, by jove, ignorance even rules the world – or at least it will do so in time. When I have to explain to a twenty-year-old what happened during the 1940’s, and that, yes, their own grandparents most likely did witness that particular war themselves – I cry myself to sleep the following night. Perhaps I am too sensitive about these things and I would, for sure, be a bad history teacher; for I would keep shovelling facts down their throats and demand them to read shelves full of books about world history. Not just about their own back garden as is particularly common in Dutch education – but beyond the borders, to Europe, the world. Don’t just hate the whole German nation for those world wars, but understand why it happened. Read about the elements that opened the opportunities for it to happen. – I would be a bad history teacher. I’d probably be one of those by madness driven people that ends up at home with a burn out because my students seem not to give a tinker’s damn about my teachings and are more interested in what happens amongst their Facebook friends.

It really saddens me. Not so much the fact they are more interested in their Facebook as that a majority of the people seems to end up with a massive crater in their general knowledge and development as world citizens; which is reaching the point of becoming damned scary if they ever become politicians or teachers themselves. Then again, knowing my history I do realize that at some point, my Austro-Hungarian great-great-grandmother wrote about the exact same thing in 1925 when she heard about the progress of my grandfather’s education. Which proves there is always hope, is it not?

Well… an entire rant and, really, I actually just wanted to put another little flag on the (internet)map for Norma Bruni. Earlier this evening I sent a YouTube-URL to an American friend and he said:… (read from top line)

~ So, my intention was to post this.
Norma Bruni (1913-1971) – The most pleasantly haunting voice I have heard thus far. There are a few other songs by her, available on YouTube, but this is definitely marked as my favourite.

Amami di piu (Love me more)

Tu sei come un fiore di belta’
ma non sai cos’è l’amor,
mai potrai sognar felicità
troppo ce l’hai tu nel cuorrong>

Amami di piu’,
stringimi di piu’,
dimmi che il mio amore
sei tu

Non aver timor
resta sul mio cuor
questo è il piu’ bel sogno
d’amor

Mi guardi e taci così
senza dirmi perché,
vuoi dunque farmi soffrir,
spasimar per te

Amami di piu’,
stringimi di piu’,
dimmi che il mio amore
sei tu

It is my goal (I already jotted down some notes) to make a decent translation of the lyrics to English. The song was written by Mascheroni-Marf, for the Italian movie ‘Imputato alzatevi’ by Mario Mattoli in 1939. A comedy I still have to see one day but of which I read the funniest anecdote. On the last day of shooting, at Cinecitta Studios, Rome, Mario Mattoli had to play host to 200 Japanese tourists. In haste, he rewrote the script that involved a mob of Japanese tourists and filmed 200 unpaid extras.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 8, 2011 by in Jazz, Music, Vintage and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Entries

Archives

Themes

When you like the content of this blog, and you would like to stay informed when new entries are posted; please, enter your e-mail to receive a notification.

